Understanding IEC 62443-2-4

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

Hours: 12
Certification : Yes
Access : 1 Year

Customer Feedback

“I am working in one of the world’s leading EPC company , engaged in the Cement and Mining industry. We purchased the ICS CYBER SECURITY TRAINING & CERTIFICATION e-learning courses. I found this course to be very informative and easy to understand. I and my colleagues completed the course successfully and got the certificates and badges. I personally recommend this course whoever interested to learn about Industrial Control System Cybersecurity.

I wish success for Abhisam team for their great work.”

D. Anbudurai, FLSmidth

What is IEC 62443-2-4?

IEC 62443-2-4 is a part of the ISA IEC 62443 series of cybersecurity standards for Industrial Automation and Control Systems (IACS for short). These automation systems are used in many industry sectors such as Oil and Gas, Petroleum refining, Chemicals manufacturing, Power generation, Water and Wastewater plants, Pulp and Paper, Pharmaceuticals, Food and Beverage manufacturing, Mining and many more. These systems are used to automate processes in these industries and also to maintain safety (via Safety Instrumented Systems).

Other than these sectors, similar automation systems are also used in other sectors such as Buildings (Building Automation Systems), Shipping (Onboard Control Systems), Railways (Traction and Signaling systems) and many more places. All these automation  and control systems need to be protected against cyber attacks. These systems are very different from business IT systems such as banking systems or stock exchange trading systems or ERP systems. The cybersecurity of automation systems is a specialized subject and the applicable standards are also different.

One of the applicable standards is IEC 62443 (jointly developed by ISA and IEC). This is a multi part standard and the part that is applicable to IACS vendors and system integrators when supplying and providing an automation solution to asset owners is IEC 62443-2-4.


Course Background:

This Abhisam course is meant for experienced professionals who are already aware of and competent in Industrial Cybersecurity or OT Security. If you would like to have a Certification Course in Industrial Cybersecurity then consider taking the Industrial Cybersecurity Course (Professional version). This “Understanding IEC 62443-2-4 course” is already included in the Advanced module 2 of the Industrial Cybersecurity Course (Professional version).

Note that this course is however not included in the Industrial Cybersecurity Course (Standard version). If you have purchased the Standard version, then you can buy this course as an Add-on at a special price. Contact support[at]abhisam[dot]com for details.

ICS Cyber Security Certification

The CICP certification can be earned after completing either the Standard or Professional versions of the Abhisam Industrial Cybersecurity Course.

On successful completion of all the course modules, passing the associated exam and successful evaluation of the assignment, you can earn the title of CICP – Certified Industrial Cybersecurity ProfessionalICS cyber security certification

Who are IACS Service Providers?

IACS Service Providers are those Industrial Automation vendors or System integrators who procure various Instrumentation and Control System related devices such as sensors, transmitters, control valves, signal conditioners, intrinsic safety barriers, cables, junction boxes, control panels, marshaling panels as well as automation and control systems such as PLCs (Programmable Logic Controllers), DCS (Distributed Control Systems) , SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition Systems), SIS (Safety Instrumented Systems), BMS (Burner Management Systems) and associated software, put them all together as a unique solution and then provide this to an asset owner to control and automate the plant and equipment belonging to the asset owner.

What are Security Program Requirements?

Supplying the IACS solution to the asset owner also implies that the solution is secure from a cybersecurity point of view. In order to make this happen, the IACS Service Provider has to meet the Security Program Requirements defined for making the IACS solution cyber secure. These security program requirements are given in the standard IEC 62443-2-4

What does this course contain?

This course contains explanation of meeting the security program requirements as given in the standard and complying with them. This course is therefore useful to IACS vendors and system integrators who should know how to comply with the requirements of the standard. It is also useful to asset owners, so that they know how the IACS vendor or service provider can meet the security program requirements given in the IEC 62443-2-4 standard.

Course Contents

This comprehensive self paced learning course is divided into two modules, followed by an exam.